There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed Some Snow

1

January 21, 2013 by Andrea


Here is a look at how I tell There Was a Cold Lady Who Swallowed Some Snow by Lucille Colandro. I drew the cold lady based off the book illustrations and attached to the box top. I used an exacto knife to cut out the profile and then basically a lot of tape to create the side. I used styrofoam, felt, pipe cleaners, and pom-poms to create the items and the eventual barfed snowman. I tell the story and depending on the audience I either put the items in her mouth or let the kids do it. I also have a print out of the words on the back of the box for my purposes. At the end of the story I crack open the box ad pull out the snowman! The picture below shows how I stapled a rubber band into the box which keeps the snowman hidden.

 

I also use this head for the Christmas, Hannukah, Kwanzaa story I made up. What would you call this prop? Story box? Shoe box story?

One thought on “There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed Some Snow

  1. […] FANCY:       There Was a Cold Woman Who Swallowed Some Snow […]

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

