Story Time Plan: Valentine’s Day!

3

February 11, 2013 by Andrea

Valentine’s Day is pretty tricky with this group, because they still have no concept of what it is. I try introduce it as a day to show a lot of love, hugs and kisses. My favorite part of the story time is tapping stick to the “I’m a teeny/medium/great big Valentine” and then tapping along to Snuggle Puppy which is the most adorable song in the universe. The kids, of course, just love beyond belief pressing the kiss button on Stop Kissing Me.

BOOKS:

 Mouse’s First Valentine by Lauren Thompson        J PICTURE THO

Stop Kissing Me! by Ethan Long       J PICTURE LON          

Big Hugs, Little Hugs by Felicia Bond      J PICTURE BON          

FELT BOARD:      Be Mine Sweet Valentine
                           H-E-A-R-T (Basically Bingo with hearts)

MUSIC:    Snuggle Puppy Philadelphia Chickens Sandra Boynton

SONGS:
If You’re Happy and You Know It
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands
           
Stomp your feet…
            
Shout hooray…

H-E-A-R-T
My valentine is pink and red,
And shaped just like a heart.
H-E-A-R-T!
H-E-A-R-T!
H-E-A-R-T!
And shaped just like a heart!

I’m a Valentine For You
(Tune: She’ll Be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’m a teeny tiny valentine for you,
I’m a teeny tiny valentine for you.
I’m a teeny tiny valentine,
I’m always yours, will you be mine?
I’m a teeny tiny valentine for you.
     I’m a medium sized valentine for you…
     I’m a great big valentine for you…

3 thoughts on “Story Time Plan: Valentine’s Day!

  1. Matthias says:

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back later in life. I want to encourage you to continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

  2. Hey very cool blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful
    .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also?
    I’m satisfied to seek out so many helpful info here within the publish, we’d like work
    out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  3. That was an awesome read. I really like this site.
    I appreciate you sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

