Story Time Plan: Dots/Bubbles

Leave a comment

March 4, 2013 by Andrea

Today was the last story time meeting for the winter so I wanted to go out with a bang….and by bang I mean POP. I brought in a bubble gun to blow bubbles as our special activity. The stories flowed really well. I started with I Spy which is a really great animal/color concepts with a cool eye cutout feature. It also played nicely into my early literacy tip about using I Spy as a storytelling took to buil narrative skills. From that round book we read Lots of Dots which had jsut the right amount of text (very little). The colorful dots segued great into the White Rabbit’s Coloring Book prop story. This was magic, I forget which blog I got it from but the kids and parents loved it. We had a tall cart in the room where I put the CD player which was a perfect place to hold the “paint pots” (which I found in the dollar aisle at Target!). Finally since our white rabbit kept wahing off the paint, we read Bubbles Bubbles about bathtime. We sang Tiny Tim which received ok participation so I used that for the big reveal of the hidden bubble gun…and woot woot chaos and bubblemania for the next five minutes. I sang the bubbble songs basically by myself but no one poked anyone else’s eye out so I think it was a success. I’m trying bubbles with babies tomorrow!

BOOKS:

 I Spy With My Little Eye by Edward Gibbs    J PICTURE GIB

Lots of Dots by Craig Frazier     J PICTURE FRA

Bubbles Bubbles by Kathi Appelt      J PICTURE APP

FELT BOARD:        White Rabbit’s Color Book

MUSIC:  Stinky Cake Carole Peterson, J CD 355

SONGS:
If You’re Happy and You Know It
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands
Stomp your feet…
Shout hooray…    

I Had A Little Turtle
I had a little turtle
His name was Tiny Tim
I put him in the bathtub
To see if he could swim.
He drank up all the water
He ate up all the soap
Now he’s stuck in bed
with a bubble in his throat.
Bubble, bubble, bubble,
Bubble, bubble, bubble,
Bubble, bubble, bubble,
Bubble, bubble, POP!!

 Bubble Song
(Tune:Happy and You Know It)

There bubbles in the air, in the air. POP! POP!
There bubbles in the air, in the air. POP! POP!
There bubbles in the air, there bubbles everywhere.
There bubbles in the air, in the air. POP! POP!

 There are bubbles on the floor…
 There are bubbles on my toes…

Can You
Pop a Big Bubble?

(sung to “The Muffin Man”)
Can you pop a big bubble? A big bubble, a big bubble?
Can you pop a big bubble, pop it with your nose?

Repeat with finger, toes, etc.

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

