Story Time Plan: Yummy! (Foods)

Leave a comment

May 24, 2013 by Andrea

The last spring story time featured food stories, songs and of course, a very hungry caterpillar. I didn’t use Worms for Lunch with my older crowd and didn’t read Lunch to anyone because I ran out of time. I ran out of time because each child put a the pieces for Very Hungry Caterpillar which always takes some coaxing. THe songs/movement fun went really well as Laurie Berkner had two hits featuring food on one cd. We used shaker eggs (get it, eggs? food?) with Fruit Salad Salsa. Just One Bite was a GREAT nonfiction addition because the picture are big a colorful. Different kids were interested in actually seeing what each animal ate and I skipped some of the creepier animal eating animal pages with my younger group. The girafffe’s black tongue was a hit! Also, for “Fruits and Veggies are good for me” I gave each child an Ikea fruit or veggie and when I pointed to them they said their produce name…or got too shy and didn’t but it was fun to name the different foods. Each set is like seven bucks and is really cute.

BOOKS:

 Just One Bite by Lola Schaefer             J 591.5 SCH
Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin    J PICTURE RUB
Mouse Went Out to Get a Snack by Lyn Rossiter McFarland       J PICTURE MCF
Worms for Lunch by Leonid Gore         J PICTURE GOR
Lunch by Denise Fleming                     J PICTURE FLE            

Prop Story:     The Very Hungry Caterpillar (Felt Board)

Music:     Fruit Salad Salsa Victor Vito Laurie Berkner                 
              I Feel Crazy So I Jump in the Soup Victor Vito Laurie Berkner                                                                              

SONGS:

 If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands

            Stomp your feet…

            Shout hooray…             

I Feel Crazy, So I Jump in the Soup
I feel crazy so I jump in the soup
I feel crazy so I jump in the soup
I feel crazy so I jump in the soup
I jump jump jump in the soup

I feel crazy so I swim in the soup…
I feel crazy so I gallop in the soup…
I feel crazy so I splash in the soup…
I feel crazy so I sit in the soup…

Fruits and Veggies are Good For Me

Sung to: “Old MacDonald Had A Farm”
Fruits and veggies are good for me, EE I EE I O
And so I eat them happily, EE I EE I O
With a carrot here, and a carrot there
Here a carrot, there a carrot
Everywhere a carrot, carrot.
Fruits and veggies are good for me,
EE I EE I O.

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

