Harold and the Purple Crayon Tube Story

4

September 9, 2013 by Andrea

Harold and the Purple Crayon Tube Story Harold and the Purple Crayon Tube Story

Here is my latest creation for a drawing themed storytime…. a Harold and the Purple Crayon inspired tube story!!!! This took a lot of sketching out to figure out how to best present the story. I also used an extra long tube, I’m not sure what it’s from because it’s not as long as a wrapping paper roll but definitely bigger than a standard paper towel roll. I had originally wanted to use the scanned images from the book, but having Harold on every tab and trying to match up the purple lines just made my brain hurt…..so I re-drew the story, took some liberties by omitting the picnic scene (which pains me because I do love the idea of a moose and a porcupine having a picnic together.) and voila! a Harold journey that pretty much looks like a continuous line.

4 thoughts on “Harold and the Purple Crayon Tube Story

  1. Thanks for sharing this week, Andrea!

  2. Jenna says:

    Wow this is beautiful!

  3. Julie says:

    I have to say this is a great idea ! I’m a librarian in Belgium and I will use this technique in my animations with children. Tx so much !

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

