Story Time Plan: Giddyup Cowpeople!

Leave a comment

September 27, 2013 by Andrea

Super random and only because I had two cowboy books, we did a Cowboy themed storytime! Both Are You a Horse? and Do Cowboys Ride Bikes? were good to skip some spreads to shorten the length. At the end of the books we “wrangled” our cow puppet by wearing a cowboy hat and each kid could throw a hula hoop to lasso the cattle. I also found some weird Woody’s Round Up Club Remix which provided some thumping beats in the background. Parents took lots of cell phone pics at this part.

BOOKS:

Let’s Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy by Jan Thomas    J PICTURE THO

Are You a Horse? by Andy Rash         J PICTURE RAS

Do Cowboys Ride Bikes? by Kathy Tucker          J PICTURE TUC

Clip-Clop by Nicola Smee                      J PICTURE SMEE

MUSIC:                   Woody’s Dance Club Mix, Woody’s Round-Up

SONGS:

If You’re Happy and You Know It

The Cowboy’s at the Ranch (Farmer in the Dell)
The cowboy’s at the ranch.
The cowboy’s at the ranch,
Yee-haa the cowboy yells.
The cowboy’s at the ranch.

The cowboy gets a horse…
Neigh snorts the horse today,
The cowboy gets a horse

The cowboy rides the horse…
Yeehaa the cowboy yells..

 

I’m a Little Cowboy
Tune: I’m a Little Teapot
I’m a little cowboy, here’s my hat.
Here are my spurs,
And here are my chaps.
As soon as I get up,
I work all day.
I get on my horse,
And ride away.

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

