Story Time Plan: Pets

Leave a comment

November 13, 2013 by Andrea

This was such a fun, simple story time!! I did not use the Folder Story or the Pet Hokey Pokey because of the length of the songs and inevitable pet discussions that occurred. The books were all hits, Gilbert Goldfish was an immaculate segway to the Goldfish Song which we danced to with scarves (and is now on the official favorite songs list here). I Heard a Dog Bark is a super fun retro Sesame Street song, which I actually just played the YouTube video. Gordon sings while all the others make various animal noises. We, of course, have every animal in puppet form so my small groups were lucky enough to have their own puppet/sound.

 

BOOKS:

The Pigeon Wants a Puppy by Mo Willems      J PICTURE WIL

I’ve Got an Elephant by Ginkle           J PICTURE GIN

Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet by DiPucchio   J PICTURE DIP

FOLDER STORY:           Dog in Boots

MUSIC:            I Heard My Dog Bark, Sesame Street Old School
The Goldfish Song, Laurie Berkner

SONGS:

 If You’re Happy and You Know It

Pet Hokey Pokey

Self-explanatory

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

