2 Year Old Storytime Plan: Counting Fun!

Leave a comment

January 6, 2014 by Andrea

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

So I decided to completely plan my two year old storytimes off of the old Little Gym model….quick segments that keep these little ones busy and moving. Unfortunately, I do feel like I’m shortchanging the book aspect, but for these two, I need more fun, flair, rhymes, and fancies to keep them going. Here is my plan from my first week, I use bells with the opening song which worked out really well (and completely stolen from TLG). This week was all about numbers so all the rhymes, songs and book dealt with counting. I used ducks flannel pieces along with the book which helped keep most of the kids engaged and I used weird Audobon bird pupets (that chirp) with our bird song. I tried to hand things out as much as possible and encourage passing around considering my second group had over 20 children! I also used the Five Green and Speckled Frogs Tube Story, the most popular post I have. I am sticking with this plan for the rest of the session, but will probably try to add one more interactive music song to play and dance to, since I was a couple minutes shorter than I’d like to be.

Little Steps – Counting Fun
January 6, 2013

If You’re Happy and You Know It

BOOK:Five Little Ducks  by Ivan Bates              J PICTURE BAT

RHYME:     Five Green and Speckled Frogs Tube Story

SONG:          Jumping and Counting, Jim Gill  

BOOK:          Counting at Home                J 513.2 RIS

RHYME:     Five Little Monkeys with Mitt

SONG:          One Little Bird  with Bird Puppets

There was one little bird in a little tree,
He was all alone, and he didn’t want to be.
So he flew far away, over the sea,
And brought back a friend to live in the tree.

RHYME:     Ten Fat Sausages

                                    Ten fat sausages, frying in the pan.
One went POP and the other went BAM.
Eight…Six…Four…Two…None!

Leave a Reply

ABOUT ME

Me! My name is Andrea and I'm a Children's Librarian in the Philadelphia area.
Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flannel Friday!

